Daily Archives: May 13, 2017

Poem – The Old Dust

The living is a passing traveler; The dead, a man come home. One brief journey betwixt heaven and earth, Then, alas! we are the same old dust of ten thousand ages. The rabbit in the moon pounds the medicine in … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Li Po | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

Poem – Bringing in the Wine

See how the Yellow River’s water move out of heaven. Entering the ocean,never to return. See how lovely locks in bright mirrors in high chambers, Though silken-black at morning, have changed by night to snow. … Oh, let a man … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Li Po | Tagged , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Poem – Hard is the Journey

Gold vessels of fine wines, thousands a gallon, Jade dishes of rare meats, costing more thousands, I lay my chopsticks down, no more can banquet, I draw my sword and stare wildly about me: Ice bars my way to cross … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Li Po | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

Poem – Clearing At Dawn

The fields are chill, the sparse rain has stopped; The colours of Spring teem on every side. With leaping fish the blue pond is full; With singing thrushes the green boughs droop. The flowers of the field have dabbled their … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Li Po | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

Poem – Drinking Alone

I take my wine jug out among the flowers to drink alone, without friends. I raise my cup to entice the moon. That, and my shadow, makes us three. But the moon doesn’t drink, and my shadow silently follows. I … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Li Po | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

Poem – Autumn River Song

The moon shimmers in green water. White herons fly through the moonlight. The young man hears a girl gathering water-chestnuts: into the night, singing, they paddle home together.

Rate this:

Posted in Li Po | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

Poem – Green Mountain

You ask me why I dwell in the green mountain; I smile and make no reply for my heart is free of care. As the peach-blossom flows down stream and is gone into the unknown, I have a world apart … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Li Po | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment