Poem – Krishna Denying He Stole The Butter

O mother mine, I did not eat the butter

come dawn, with the herds,

you send me to the jungle,

o, mother mine, I did not eat the butter.

all day long with my flute in the jungles

at dusk do I return home.

but a child, younger than my friends

how could I reach up to the butter?

all the gopas are against me

on my face they wipe the butter,

you mother, are much too innocent,

you believe all their chatter.

there is a flaw in your behaviour,

you consider me not yours,

take you herd-stick and the blanket

I’ll dance to your tune no longer.

Surdas, Yasoda then laughed,

and took the boy in her arms,

mother mine I did not eat the butter. 

About भण्डारी2013

Has a reflective and idealistic types of personality. Loves to participate in Social activities. Extremely loyal by nature. Laid back unless a strongly held value is threatened and a talented writer too.
This entry was posted in Sant Surdas and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

