Daily Archives: November 28, 2015

Some Days – Billy Collins

Some days I put the people in their places at the table,  bend their legs at the knees,  if they come with that feature,  and fix them into the tiny wooden chairs.  All afternoon they face one another,  the man … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Billy Collins | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

The Best Cigarette – Billy Collins

There are many that I miss  having sent my last one out a car window  sparking along the road one night, years ago.  The heralded one, of course:  after sex, the two glowing tips  now the lights of a single … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Billy Collins | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

The First Night – Billy Collins

Before I opened you, Jiménez,  it never occurred to me that day and night  would continue to circle each other in the ring of death,  but now you have me wondering  if there will also be a sun and a … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Billy Collins | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Walking Across The Atlantic – Billy Collins

I wait for the holiday crowd to clear the beach  before stepping onto the first wave.  Soon I am walking across the Atlantic  thinking about Spain,  checking for whales, waterspouts.  I feel the water holding up my shifting weight.  Tonight … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Billy Collins | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Workshop – Billy Collins

I might as well begin by saying how much I like the title. It gets me right away because I’m in a workshop now  so immediately the poem has my attention,  like the Ancient Mariner grabbing me by the sleeve.  … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Billy Collins | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment